Loading Events

GHHG-Webinar: “Testing as the first step in COVID-19 prevention” | June 11, 2020

11. June 2020 | 13:00 - 14:00 CEST

On Thursday, June 11, 13:00-14:00 (CEST), the discussion series of the Global Health Hub Germany on COVID-19 will be continued with the topic “Testing as the first step in the prevention of COVID-19” [Note: webinar will be held in German language].

Timely and sustainable testing for COVID-19 and the tracking and isolation of positive tested cases have proven to be the only strategy to contain the pandemic as best as possible in recent months. However, access to testing is hampered by high prices, interrupted supply chains and complex ordering systems. Although hundreds of tests are under development for COVID-19, there is still no simple, affordable and reliable test available to everyone, everywhere.

For this reason, FIND (Foundation for Innovative New Diagnostics) together with the Global Fund has launched the Access to COVID-19 Accelerator Diagnostics Partnership (ACT-A Dx). The partnership consists of global diagnostic stakeholders, including the WHO, focused on accelerating the development of high-quality rapid tests and eliminating systemic bottlenecks.

The current crisis shows that there is an urgent need to put diagnostics at the centre of pandemic control. This webinar will provide an opportunity to hear directly from stakeholders involved in the global fight against COVID-19 in testing and diagnostics. They will discuss the important role of Germany and why testing and diagnostics are not only central to contain the pandemic, but also important in the introduction of a vaccine and the treatment of COVID-19.

The webinar is hosted and moderated by

Prof. Dr. Ilona Kickbusch, Member of the Interim Steering Committe of GHHG, Founder and Chair, Global Health Centre, Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Genf.

Speakers:

  • Dr Catharina Böhme, CEO, FIND, Co-Chair, ACT-A Diagnostics Partnership
  • Drr Bernhard Schwartländer, Head of Cabinet, World Health Organization (WHO)
  • Dr Joachim Klein, Deputy Head, Global Health Research, Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF)
  • Roland Göhde, Chairman of the Board, GHA – German Health Alliance

To attend the webinar, please use the MS Teams link below. If you do not have MS Teams, you can participate via the link using your browser via the MS Teams Web Application.

Looking forward to your participation and an interesting discussion.

> Attend Microsoft Teams Meeting

Within the framework of the discussion series on COVID-19 of the Global Health Hub Germany, the challenges posed by the current pandemic for Global Health will be discussed from different perspectives in the form of webinars. More information on the discussion series can be found on the webseite of the Global Health Hub Germany.

Share This Event

  • This event has passed.

Details

Date:
11. June 2020
Time:
13:00 - 14:00 CEST
Event Category:
Menu

Lade Veranstaltungen

GHHG-Webinar „Testen als erste Schutzmaßnahme bei der Vorsorge gegen COVID-19“ | 11. Juni 2020

11. Juni 2020 | 13:00 - 14:00 CEST

Am Donnerstag, den 11.06.2020, 13:00-14:00 Uhr, wird die Diskussionsreihe des Global Health Hub Germany zu COVID-19 mit dem Thema „Testen als erste Schutzmaßnahme bei der Vorsorge gegen COVID-19“ fortgesetzt.

Rechtzeitiges und nachhaltiges Testen auf COVID-19 sowie die Nachverfolgung und Isolierung von positiv-getesteten Fällen haben sich in den letzten Monaten als einzige Strategie erwiesen, um die Pandemie so gut es geht einzudämmen. Der Zugang zu Tests wird allerdings durch hohe Preise, unterbrochene Lieferketten und komplexe Bestellsysteme erschwert. Obwohl Hunderte von Tests für COVID-19 in der Entwicklung sind, gibt es immer noch keinen einfachen, erschwinglichen und zuverlässigen Test, der für jeden und überall verfügbar ist.

Aus diesem Grund hat FIND (Foundation for Innovative New Diagnostics) gemeinsam mit dem Globalen Fonds den Access to COVID-19 Accelerator Diagnostics Partnership (ACT-A Dx) ins Leben gerufen. Die Partnerschaft besteht aus globalen Interessenvertreter im Bereich der Diagnostik, darunter auch der WHO, die sich auf die Beschleunigung der Entwicklung hochwertiger Schnelltests und die Beseitigung systemischer Engpässe konzentriert.

Die aktuelle Krise zeigt, dass es dringend notwendig ist, Diagnostik ins Zentrum der Pandemiebekämpfung zu stellen. Dieses Webinar bietet die Gelegenheit, direkt von Akteuren zu hören, die an der globalen Bekämpfung von COVID-19 im Bereich Testen und Diagnostik beteiligt sind. Sie diskutieren die wichtige Rolle Deutschlands und die Frage, warum Tests und Diagnostik nicht nur zur Eindämmung der Pandemie zentral sind, sondern auch bei der Einführung eines Impfstoffs und der Behandlung von COVID-19 von Bedeutung sind.

Das Webinar wird gehostet und moderiert von

Prof. Dr. Ilona Kickbusch, Mitglied des Interim-Lenkungskreis des GHHG, Gründerin und Vorsitzende des Global Health Centre des Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Genf.

Als Sprecher*innen nehmen teil:

  • Dr. Catharina Böhme, CEO FIND, Ko-Vorsitzende der ACT-A Diagnostics Partnership
  • Dr. Bernhard Schwartländer, Kabinettschef World Health Organization (WHO)
  • Dr. Joachim Klein, stellvertretender Referatsleiter für Globale Gesundheitsforschung im Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)
  • Roland Göhde, Vorstandsvorsitzender der GHA – German Health Alliance

Zur Teilnahme am Webinar nutzen Sie den untenstehenden MS Teams Link. Falls Sie kein MS Teams haben, können Sie über den Link per Browser über die MS Teams Web Application teilnehmen.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Teilnahme und eine interessante Diskussion.

> An Microsoft Teams-Besprechung teilnehmen

 

Im Rahmen der Diskussionsreihe zu COVID-19 des Global Health Hub Germany werden aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven die Herausforderungen durch die aktuelle Pandemie für die Globale Gesundheit in Form von Webinaren diskutiert. Mehr Informationen zur Diskussionsreihe finden Sie auf auf der Webseite des Global Health Hub Germany.

Share This Event

  • Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

Details

Datum:
11. Juni 2020
Zeit:
13:00 - 14:00 CEST
Veranstaltungskategorien:
,
Menü